CH11 Flashcards
Penalty Enforcement
The referee shall grant a captain’s request for a timeout prior to accepting or declining a penalty which involves an automatic first down.
False
The distance penalty for any foul may be declined.
True
No foul causes loss of the ball.
TRUE
No series can ever start on a down other than a first.
TRUE
Team A may never be awarded a new series if they commit a foul during a down.
FALSE
When a penalty is declined, the number of the down will be the same as if the foul had not occurred.
TRUE
Defensive pass interference is one of the fouls by Team B that awards an automatic first down.
FALSE
If there is no change of possession, a live-ball foul on each team during a down results in a double foul.
TRUE
If both teams foul during a change of possession down and the team in final possession did not foul prior to gaining possession, it may keep the ball, provided it declines the penalty for the opponent’s foul.
TRUE
If R33 gives an invalid fair catch signal and R42 catches the scrimmage kick, Team R may retain possession if the penalty is accepted.
TRUE
The down must be replayed if Team A is illegally in motion and B64 clips during B30’s interception return.
FALSE
The down must be replayed if both teams commit holding fouls before an interception.
TRUE
The down must be replayed if both teams commit holding fouls during a play where the ball is punted.
FALSE
A nonplayer or unsportsmanlike foul is treated as live-ball foul.
FALSE
If during a down B80 holds and then B14 commits an unsportsmanlike act, only one foul can be penalized.
FALSE
If both teams commit a foul during the same dead-ball period, and the second foul is committed prior to the enforcement of the first foul, the fouls always cancel.
FALSE
When the same team commits a live-ball foul followed by one or more dead-ball fouls, all fouls cannot be penalized.
FALSE
All dead-ball fouls are enforced in the order in which they occurred and always from the spot of the foul.
FALSE
When a team commits two or more live-ball fouls, including unsportsmanlike fouls, it is a multiple foul.
FALSE
There can only be one loose-ball play during the down.
TRUE
If A7’s pass is caught by A82 and there is an unnecessary roughness foul against A7 after the catch, it is a foul during a loose-ball play.
FALSE
All roughing the kicker fouls are penalized from the spot of the foul.
FALSE
All fouls committed before the change of possession on a free kick are fouls during a loose-ball play.
TRUE
When A1 is tackled behind the neutral zone and fumbles, it is a running play.
FALSE
During a scrimmage down, a backward pass from behind the neutral zone is always part of a loose-ball play.
TRUE
All illegal forward passes are loose-ball plays, and the basic enforcement spot is the previous spot.
FALSE
The succeeding spot is the enforcement spot for a foul which occurs simultaneously with the snap or free kick.
FALSE
The basic spot of enforcement for a foul during a loose-ball play is the succeeding spot.
FALSE
A foul that occurs simultaneously with the snap is an exception to the all-but-one principle.
TRUE
Illegal motion, illegal shits and false starts are all fouls simultaneous with the snap.
FALSE
If K51 commits an unsportsmanlike foul during a successful field goal, the penalty is administered from the succeeding spot.
TRUE
A post-scrimmage kick foul can only occur after the kick is beyond the expanded neutral zone.
FALSE
If R22 fouls beyond the expanded neutral zone during a punt that crosses the expanded neutral zone and is caught by R44 who then fumbles, there cannot be post-scrimmage kick enforcement if the ball is finally recovered by K24.
TRUE
The basic spot for a post-scrimmage kick foul is the end of the kick or the 20 yard line if the play results in a touchback.
TRUE
Post-scrimmage kick enforcement applies to all kicking situations.
FALSE
Some types of illegal participation fouls by the receiving team occurring during a kick may be enforced under post-scrimmage kick rules.
TRUE
An unsportsmanlike foul by B22 during A34’s touchdown run may be enforced from the succeeding spot on the kickoff.
TRUE
A penalty for nonplayer foul is enforced from the same spot as a dead-ball foul.
TRUE
When the final result of a down is a touchback, the basic spot is the goal line.
FALSE
It will be first and 10 for Team B at their 15 yard line if A85 grabs B35’s face mask in the end zone after B35 intercepts a pass.
FALSE
B46 intercepts a pass and scores a touchdown. If A66 grabs B52’s face mask prior to the interception, Team B must decline the penalty to keep the touchdown.
TRUE
If B31 tackles A44 by grasping his face mask in Team A’s end zone, the penalty will be enforced from the goal line.
TRUE
If a distance penalty for a foul by Team B is measured from behind Team B’s goal line toward its end line, the result is a touchback.
FALSE
Whether the next down will be first down is determined at the time the ball becomes dead and after considering any act, except a nonplayer foul or unsportsmanlike foul, which occurred during the down.
TRUE
A disqualified player must be removed from the game even if the penalty for his foul is declined.
TRUE
All live-ball fouls are penalized under the all-but-one principle.
FALSE
Under the “all-but-one” principle enforcement principle, all defensive fouls are penalized from the basic spot.
TRUE
All fouls by Team A during the down are enforced from the basic spot.
FALSE
Only fouls by Team B are enforced from the spot of the foul.
FALSE
The enforcement spot for any foul by the defense is the goal line when the run ends in the end zone and would result in a safety.
TRUE
If during a touchdown a foul occurs by the opponent of the scoring team, the scoring team must decline the penalty in order to keep the score.
FALSE
If A2 taunts an opponent after scoring a touchdown, the score is negated and the down is relayed after a 15-yard penalty is enforced from the previous spot.
FALSE
If Team R commits a foul during a successful field goal by Team K that would have post-scrimmage enforcement on a punt, the penalty is automatically declined.
FALSE
If the kicker is roughed during a successful field goal, the only way Team K can have the penalty enforced is by repeating the down.
FALSE
If B22 intercepts and is downed, and then A62 and A34 pile on, it is a multiple foul.
FALSE
A foul by Team B during a successful two-point try to Team A is enforced from the succeeding spot.
TRUE
If during a successful two-point try, A88 commits pass interference, the try is repeated after the penalty is enforced.
TRUE
If during an unsuccessful try, A33 fouls, the penalty is obviously declined, the results of the play stand and there is no replay.
TRUE
When the momentum exception is in effect, the end of the run for purposes of penalty enforcement is the spot of the catch or recovery.
TRUE