Ch. 15-- Advertising and Public Relations Flashcards

1
Q

What characteristics make Advertising different from the other forms of promotion?

A

Paid
Non personal
By an identified sponsor

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2
Q

What are the 2 forms of institutional advertising and their characteristics?

A
  1. Corporate– to promote image of company

2. Advocacy– supports a cause

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3
Q

What are the 3 forms of product advertising and their characteristics?

A
  • Informative: Giving knowledge
    (and making aware, used in introductory state of product life cycle)
    -Persuasive: Convincing customers
    (to stick w. you– used in growth stage)

-Reminder: Maintain customer relationships
(+ keep them thinking about product, used in late maturity and decline)

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4
Q

What is the main advantage of comparative advertising? What are some of its
disadvantages?

A

Strongest type of attack on your competition aka frontal attack

  • ’s : - you’re paying to advertise the competitions name
  • Against the law in many countries
  • Competition doesn’t like it
  • Can start war w. other company
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5
Q

What is the major part of advertising expenditures spent on?

A

Buying the media

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6
Q

How do advertising agencies get paid for the services they provide national
advertisers? For the services they provide non-national or local advertisers?

A

National advertisers: advertising agency gets commission discount
Local advertiser: no discount, so advertising agency bills for the media bought and services provided

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7
Q

What are the general principles of media communications?

A
All-or none
Education
Economic
Age
Least effort principle
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8
Q

What are the advantages of each media type?

A

TV: mass communication; color/sound/movement
Radio: Listeners form their own images; portability; quickest to broadcast advertisements
Magazines: Excellent market segmentation; excellent reproduction; long shelf life
Newspapers: good for local markets (-= hasty reading)
Outdoor: good 4 nearby products and services (-= brief msgs)
Internet: Can tailor advertisement to individual customer

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9
Q

How does each medium get its market segmentation?

A

TV: Channel; program
Radio: station format; geographical location
Magazines: topic; type
Newspapers: section; geographical location
Outdoor: physical location
Internet: Website

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10
Q

How do you determine the CPM for advertising media?

A

Cost Per Contact
cost of reaching one member of the target mkt
= cost of media / size of audience
ex: $50,00/25,000,000 ppl= $0.002

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11
Q

What is “reach” for a commercial?

A

Reach: Measure of the % of ppl in the target market who are exposed to the ad campaign during a given period of time

(# of different target customers who are exposed to a commercial at least once during a specific time period (usually 4 wks)
ex: 60,000 ppl/100,000 radio liseners= 60%

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12
Q

Is Publicity “Free Advertising?”

A

No bc you have to pay public relations people to do the job

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13
Q

What is the main advantage of Publicity over Advertising?

A

More believable

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14
Q

What are the 2 things that you as a marketer cannot control in Publicity?

A

Content

Placement

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15
Q

Define advertising

A

Any paid form of non personal presentation and promotion of ideas, goods, or services by an identified sponsor

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16
Q

What is “frequency?”

A

Frequency: measure of how many times the average person in the target market is exposed to the message
ex: 3 times

17
Q

What is impact?

A

is the qualitative value of a message exposure through a given medium.

18
Q

What is engagement?

A

a measure of things such as ratings, readership, listenership, and click-through rates.

19
Q

How do you calculate cost per thousand (CPM)?

A

Cost of reaching 1,000 members of the target mkt

= cost per contact * 1,000 = $0.002 * 1,000= $2

20
Q

How do you calculate the avg frequency?

A

Total exposures/audience reached
ex:
(30,000 *3 times) + (30,000 * 5 times) /’ 60,000 ppl
= 4

21
Q

What is the all-or-none principle?

A

Persons who are above average in exposure to one medium tend to be above avg in exposure to all; conversely, persons who do not use a medium much tend not to use all others much

22
Q

What is the education principle?

A

the better educated a person ins, the more use she will make of the media

23
Q

What is the economic principle?

A

use of the media increases as income increases, particularly in the printed media

24
Q

What is the age principle?

A

As Americans become older, they tend to use the media more for serious purposes and less for entertainment