BUSINESS Flashcards

1
Q

IPO (initial public offering)

A

When a private company goes public by offering shares of their company to the public (outside investors).

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2
Q

Benefits for IPO

A

It can raise capital / scale the business due to outside investors investing in stock/shares.

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3
Q

SEC (securities exchange commission)

A

Government branch that oversees / reviews if a public company is ready to go public.

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4
Q

Shareholder

A

Is a person or company that holds shares within a companies stock.

They get to vote on issues that effect the company.

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5
Q

Unicorn

A

Startup that’s valued at 1billion

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6
Q

Shares

A

Unit of Equity of ownership in a company.

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7
Q

Common Stock

A

People that hold some time of ownership within the company.

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8
Q

Underwriter

A

Works with the company to Evaluate and determine the set price of the IPO stock

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9
Q

TAM (total available market)

A

Total demand for your product globally. With only one provider.

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10
Q

SAM (serviceable available market)

A

The portion of the market that’s attainable for your business.

SAM can be due to specialization in your business or geographical location.

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11
Q

SOM (serviceable obtainable market)

A

How many customers would realistically buy your product.

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12
Q

Term Sheet

A

Agreement between company & investor before a deal is finalized (during seed round).

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13
Q

Angel Round / Angel Investor

A

Company is launching, funds for day to day operations, hire team.

Investors invest for small equity.

Family & Friends

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14
Q

Series A

A

Startup faze. Shares for funding.

Finanical risk - investor

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15
Q

Series B

A

Sign of growth:
customer base, performance, proven product & services.

Revenue predictions / forecast.

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16
Q

Series C

A

Company is preparing for rapid growth. Proven track record, sales, scaled up and developed new products and services.

Wants to make acquisitions to competing companies.

17
Q

Bridge

A

Pre- merger / acquisition of a company or pre IPO.

18
Q

LTV(lifetime value)

A

Be able to track the average revenue you make off a customer during the entire time they are customer.

Average revenue a customer will generate during the lifespan of them being a customer.

Key to metric when you have a subscription base model.

Example:
Monthly cost of subscription divide by the number you lose a customer.

$10 x 5 (months) = $500 (average price a customer stays with me)

Key, have a retention strategy.

Build add on subscription model

19
Q

CAC(customer acquisition cost)

A

The cost it takes to acquire a new customer.

Example:
Sales & Marketing Expense / Number of New Customers

$100 / 5 = $50 (to gain a new customer).

20
Q

Private Equity Fund

A

Investing in business that are private / not trading

21
Q

Venture Capital Fund (VC)

A

Investing in startups with the potential for long term growth.

22
Q

Preferred Stock

A

Ownership in a company stock over Common Stock, higher dividends & assets.