Kevin's flashcards
RFP
Request for proposal
RFI
Request for Information
Examples of placement
SOV, ATF, BTF…these are often requested by the agency
Programmatic buying and selling platforms
DSP, SSP & DMP
Examples of pre-call info
Competitors, current ad, call to action, where they are advertising
DSP
Demand Side Platform
SSP
Supply Side Platform
DMP
Data Management Platform
Billing Process
1) file generated monthly by ad server
2) file reviewed by planner
3) adjusted by finance
4) sent to billing
If client books 1,000,000 impressions at a $10 CPM, what is there budget?
$10,000
$10 x (1,000,000/1000) = $10,000
CPM x (imp/1000) = budget
Why is billing most challenging?
Because it is based on third party ad servers & there is usually a variance
Examples of domain targeting
.com
.edu
.gov
.net
Retargeting
Method of identifying users who have already demonstrated interest in a product or service
Examples of third party behavioral targeting
New York Times partners with LinkedIn to match NYT readers to C Level Execs
PII
Personally identifiable Information
Name, address, phone, email
Trafficking services
Burst & Adgera
Billing Management
Burst & Collective
Examples of interaction
Roll over
Third Party Servers
DFA, Atlas and Media a Mind
CRM
Customer Relationship Management
Sales Force
ETIME
Ad server
Delivery engine
Inventory Management Companies
Double click, 24/607, operative, As Tech, Freewheel, Collective
KPI
Key Performance Indicators
Cancellation For Guaranteed
14 days
Cancellation for Non-Guaranteed (CPC)
7 days
Behavioral Targeting
Ability to target a group of viewers with similar interests
Ex: auto enthusiasts that visit auto blogs 10x/month
3MS
Making measurement make sense
Viewable impressions, GRP, View Thrus, SEM
CPC
Cost per click
Media cost/# of click Thrus
SEM
IBV
In Banner Video
Video displayed in a banner ad
ISV or Linear Video Ads
In Stream Video
Video streamed before, during or after another video
Pre-roll
ECPM
Effective Cost Per Thousand
Media cost / # of paid + bonus impressions \ 1,000
CPM
Cost per thousand
Media cost / (# of impressions/ 1,000)
CPS
Cost per sale
Media cost / # of sales
CPA
Cost per action or acquisition
Media cost / # of actions requested
Examples of unreserved non-guaranteed pricing
Cost per click
Flat rate
Advertiser agrees to a set price over a set amount of time
GRP
Gross Rating Points
Keys to success
Adequate pre-call research
Conduct a CNA
Understand client’s audience & objectives
Can pitch UVP (unique value proposition)
What are ad exchanges
Automatic transactions between sellers and buyers utilizing real time bidding (RTB)
Ex: OPENX, ADECN (Microsoft), Ad Exchange ( Google)
Redirect
The publishers ad server calls the agencies (3rd party) ad server to deliver the ad
What are cookies
Anonymous pieces of code assigned by the ad server or network to a users and deposited on their PC to identify them
Name all the digital platforms
Digital video Digital audio Mobile, ITV, Gaming, Social, UGC sites
RTB
Real Time Bidding
An online auction of impressions
Frequency capping
The best method of maximizing reach
Limits the number of times an ad is served to the same user
UAP
Universal Ad Package
Includes: 300x250, 180x150, 160x600 and 728x90
ROS
Run of Site
TRP
Target rating points
DR
Direct Response
VAST
Video ad server template
MRAID
Mobile rich media ad interface definition
VPAID
Video player ad interface definition
Examples of linear video formats
MPEG2, WMV, H.264/ADC
Ad call
The process of delivering an ad to the website page
UGC
User generated content
Ad building blocks
Dimension, file size, position, interaction
Ad choices
Self regulatory targeted ad solutions
Allows user to opt out of behavioral targeting
Examples of non linear video formats
JPEG, PNG, SWF, XAP
Traditional consumer purchase funnel
Awareness, consideration, intent, purchase, loyalty
Aggreagators
Helps publishers manage multiple ad networks
Admeld & Rubicon
What % of publishers are UAP compliant?
80%
Digital platforms
Desktop PC Handheld Tablet Digital TV Digital Out of home (OOH)
SEM
Search engine marketing
Paid keywords
SEO
Search engine optimization
Organic
Examples of reserved pricing
CPM buy
CPA
Cost per action or acquisition
Is attractive to the advertisers and brutal to the publishers
COPPA
Children’s online privacy protection act
If a campaign gets 3,000 clicks from 500,000 impressions served, what is the CTR.
.6%
(3,000 / 500,000) x 100
AFU
A free user
Age gate
Requires age verification before a visitor can enter or buy
CMS
Content management server
Manages content on a website
PAS
Publisher ad server
What can effect CTR?
Product Offer Ad size Ad creation/execution Placement Targeting
Examples of mobile ad sizes
320x50 216x36 168x28 120x20 Text (10x24)
Conversion rate
Client acquisition / clicks
Can’t control
Billboard size
970 x 250