Digital marketing and E-commerce Flashcards

1
Q

what is awareness stage?

A

is the stage where people become aware of a company but only a few will think of doing business with them because of not knowing enough about the company and a lack of understanding of what it does.
marketing efforts focused on raising awareness is a must in this stage.

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2
Q

target audience

A

a group of people most likely to purchase a product or service

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3
Q

consideration stage

A

this is the stage where the audience from the awareness stage start to think of doing business with the company.
the audience at this stage finds out more about the company and compares the company with other brands. the key to winning an audience here is to make a good impression (remember you)

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4
Q

conversion stage

A

happens when the target audience is sold and decides to purchase and become a customer.
user experience and the value customers received holds the key to repeat conversion.

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5
Q

loyalty stage

A

last stage. happy customers keep coming back for more.

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6
Q

what is a marketing funnel?

A

A marketing funnel is a visual representation of the process through which people go from first learning about a brand to becoming loyal customers.

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7
Q

four stages of a simple marketing funnel

A

awareness, consideration, conversion, and loyalty.

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8
Q

ToFU

A

top funnel

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9
Q

MoFU

A

mid funnel

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10
Q

BoFU

A

bottom funnel

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11
Q

stages of a traditional sales funnel

A

awareness (ToFU)- audience becomes aware of the brand, #interest (MoFU) - audience finds out more about the brand, compares brand with other brands, #decision (MoFU)- at this stage, the brand comes up as the top choice and audience decides to make a purchase

#action (BoFU)- audience purchases and becomes a customer.

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12
Q

customer journey

A

The path customers take from learning about a product to getting their questions answered to making a purchase

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13
Q

how do you know if the tactics you’ve chosen are working?

A

measure your success rate.
measure outcomes at each stage of the funnel

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14
Q

measurement allows you to find out

A

what you’re doing right, what you’re doing wrong, and how you can improve

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15
Q

what is a metric

A

A metric is a quantifiable measurement used to track and assess progress toward an objective.

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16
Q

metrics companies use to measure success of their awareness stage strategies

A

impressions, reach and frequency

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17
Q

Impressions

A

are the total number of times an ad appears on people’s screens.
If an ad is encountered 200 times by 100 people, the number of impressions is 200, since it’s been shown 200 times

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18
Q

reach

A

is the total number of unique individuals who encounter an ad across their different devices. No matter how many times a person gets that ad, they’re only counted once.
The reach of an ad that’s encountered 200 times by 100 people would be 100.

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19
Q

Frequency

A

refers to how many times each individual encounters the ad in a given timeframe. So if each of those 100 people gets the ad twice a week, their frequency would be two.

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20
Q

success of consideration stage can be measured through what metrics/

A

website engagement, including page visits, detailed views, and email sign-ups.

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21
Q

four distinct models within e-commerce

A

b2c, c2c, c2b, b2b

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22
Q

define agency

A

an outside partner that caters to a company’s digital marketing and advertising needs

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23
Q

B2B

A

company sells products/services to other companies

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24
Q

B2C

A

company sells products/services to consumers

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25
Q

C2B

A

individual sells products/services to companies

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26
Q

C2C

A

individual sells products or services to other consumers

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27
Q

digital channel

A

any communication platform businesses can use to reach their target audience online.

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28
Q

digital marketing

A

is the practice of reaching consumers online through digital channels with the aim of turning them into customers.

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29
Q

E-commerce

A

is the buying and selling of goods or services using the internet

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30
Q

Experiential marketing

A

is the process of encouraging consumers to not only purchase a product but to also experience it.

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31
Q

Influencer marketing

A

the process of enlisting influential people to endorse or mention products or services to their followers on social media

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32
Q

in-house

A

within the same company

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33
Q

social media marketing

A

is the process of creating content for different social media platforms to drive engagement and promote a business or product

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34
Q

fundamentals of digital marketing

A

raise awareness; foster trust; build loyalty

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35
Q

why is it important for a company to have online presence

A

It is important for a company to have online presence to stay competitive because 60 percent of the world’s population are online.

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36
Q

is having a website enough for a company to stay competitive?

A

having a website is not enough. consumers need to know a brand exists, what the brand can do to help them, and what makes the brand different from the competition.

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37
Q

define inclusive marketing

A

a process of improving representation and belonging within the marketing and advertising materials to positively market to the diversity that exists in their audience and the world.

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38
Q

some identity traits that are helpful to keep in mind when you’re creating marketing or advertising materials

A

slam age, pose cure rage

socioeconomic status
language spoken
military view
age
gender
political view
sexual orientation
culture
religion
race
geographical location

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39
Q

what is the first and most important step to any marketing strategy

A

learning about your customers.
about customers’ needs and pain points.

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40
Q

what are touchpoints

A

reveal the kinds of decisions customers are making during their customer journey to purchase your product or service.
touch points are customer-centric and have context and reflect customer needs.

Are points where a lead interacted with a company/brand.

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41
Q

site an example of a touchpoint

A

the customer responded to an announcement sale on Twitter.
When they click the link, they are interested in knowing what they can purchase at a discounted price.
the context behind the action was curiosity, and the driving need was saving money.

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42
Q

difference between a journey map and a marketing funnel

A

*a journey map traces the customer’s path to purchase along specific touchpoints while a marketing funnel is part of a business plan for moving customers along their journey.
*a journey map adopts the customers perspective, but a funnel considers that same process from the position of the business.
*a journey map demonstrates how a customer might interact with the brand. it is about how specific customers reach consideration or conversion while marketing funnel is about what a company can do to move lots of customers from one stage to the next.

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43
Q

how do you make sure your brand gets in front of the right audience (awareness)?

A
  1. find out who your customers are and where they are online (which channels have the best chance of reaching them).
  2. take advantage of multiple channels and create a consistent experience across all of them.
  3. Maintain a consistent online presence.

Fiw tac ma

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44
Q

how long will it take a customer to get into consideration stage from awareness stage

A

it can take days, weeks, or even longer for them to get to the consideration STAGE.

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45
Q

different tactics to use to reach customers

A
  1. improve your rankings and search engine results by optimizing website content around specific search terms
  2. putting up digital ads on websites, social media, email, or video platforms.
  3. forming promotional partnerships with other brands or influencers

Ipf

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46
Q

When customers move from awareness stage to consideration stage they become

A

lead

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47
Q

what is a lead

A

a potential customer who has interacted with the brand and shared personal information, like an email address.

layman: someone who is already interested in a company

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48
Q

ways to educate potential customers about your offerings can address their pain points

A

content, blog posts, newsletters of webinars.
. Free samples, tools, or trial memberships can let potential customers test out your services before committing (may build trust in the quality of your products and give customer they need to make an informed choice)

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49
Q

is there a standard in building marketing funnel?

A

no. marketing funnel models often share similar strategies and structures, but vary based on the needs of the business.

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50
Q

case study: MERSEA

A

company: mersea, a lifestyle brand located in Lenexa, Kansa
the challenge: acquiring new customers online and turning them into repeat customers.
the approach; a mix of marketing strategies such as online paid advertising, email marketing, social media marketing, and text messaging.
MERSEA is not implementing all these strategies with its own employees. They hired an outside marketing company to assist with Google Ads

Working with a marketing company outside of the business allows the founders and its employees to focus on what they’re best at, creating outstanding products.

marketing strategies MERSEA uses:
awareness:
google ads
Search ads for brand name and product searches.
hopping ads for specific types of products, such as “kimono sweater.”
facebook ads
MERSEA advertises to potential customers from lifestyle-based targeting

Consideration
During the consideration marketing funnel stage, MERSEA continues to apply online advertising, and also uses social media marketing and email marketing.
for online advertising, a marketing strategy MERSEA uses is delivering ads to people who previously visited their website. This is called remarketing. After the customer visits the website, they then receive ads specifically for the products they viewed.

For social media marketing and email marketing, MERSEA tells stories about products and introduces potential customers to the brand.

Conversion
Mersea used the follow up strategy to improve the conversion stage with abandoned carts.
An abandoned cart is when a customer adds an item to their cart in an online store but does not make a purchase
what Mersea did:
If the customer enters their email during the checkout process, but doesn’t make a purchase, MERSEA automatically sends follow up emails reminding the customer about the product in their cart.

for Loyalty
After making a purchase, the customer receives emails about additional and newly released products they may be interested in. These emails are typically sent twice a week: one during the week and another during the weekend

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51
Q

goal of the conversion stage

A

to turn potential customers into buyers

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52
Q

what can set brands apart at the conversion stage

A

clearly-organized website
clear and useful content and experiences.
accurate product descriptions,
clear returns policy.
Well-placed, product-focused ads,
smooth checkout process

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53
Q

how to build loyalty

A

create a great customer experience during and after purchase through follow-up emails, rewards programs, or social media engagement to nurture relationships with customers on an ongoing basis

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54
Q

ways to measure success for conversion stage

A

C- ost per conversion,
A- verage number of touchpoints before
__ conversion,
N- umber of conversions,
T- ime to conversion,
A- verage order size (these can provide insights
__on how a customer interacted with your ___brand)

canta

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55
Q

how to measure loyalty

A

will depend on the businesses’ target audience and particular goals. May include:
rate of repeat purchases,
length of time between purchases,
number of orders per customer
rate of account activation after sign-up

rale ran

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56
Q

Customer journey map

A

A visualization of the touchpoints a typical customer encounters along their purchase journey

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57
Q

Omnichannel

A

The integration or synchronization of content on multiple channels

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58
Q

Pain points

A

Problems customers want to solve

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59
Q

what is brand?

A

brand is how the public perceives a business or organization. more like a personality or a reputation. the sum of who you are and what people think about you and your products.

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60
Q

a business who wants to focus on digital marketing should carefully consider the customer journey because understanding and improving the journey can be marketed and sold to increase company revenue.

A

a business who wants to focus on digital marketing should carefully consider the customer journey because understanding and improving the journey can be marketed and sold to increase company revenue.

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61
Q

why is it important to know about brands and their value

A

a company’s brand guides all of their marketing and sales efforts

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62
Q

what must be done before thinking of putting up ads or promotion

A

companies need to understand their mission, values, and unique offerings.

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63
Q

a brand is who you are, and marketing is how you get people’s attention.

A

a brand is who you are, and marketing is how you get people’s attention.

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64
Q

brand equity

A

It’s the value consumers attribute to one brand’s offering when compared with similar products from another brand

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65
Q

Brand safety

A

refers to the practice of keeping a brand’s reputation safe when they advertise online.

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66
Q

13 topics that brands should avoid associating themselves with to maintain brand safety

A

casado fain hate onto demi

crime, arms, spam, adult content,drugs, obscenity, fake news, injury, hate speech, terrorism, online piracy, tobacco, death, military conflict.

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67
Q

steps you can take to ensure your brand is maintaining brand safety

A

DCSU
1. define what is considered to be “unsafe” for your brand
2. Consider what topics might be harmful to your brand.
3. make sure you and your team understand that scale isn’t everything.
4. use trusted technology

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68
Q

Some strategies marketers take to maintain brand safety are:

A

BUSA
Buy ad space directly from reputable publishers. This will ensure your ads aren’t placed where you don’t want them. (Note: doing this may mean you miss out on potential sales since you’re limiting yourself to certain customers.)

Use image recognition. This will identify images that deem content unsafe for your brand.

Select keywords to avoid. Publishers will allow you to choose keywords to avoid, so you can include those when you submit your content.

Apply geotargeting. This means making sure you know which regions your ads are running in, which helps you make sure you are remaining sensitive and relevant to all your customers.

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69
Q

digital marketing strategy

A

is a plan for achieving specific goals through online channels to support and advance business objectives

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70
Q

essentials to the success of any digital marketing strategy

A

*research audience- who you’re trying to reach
*set meaningful goals- what you want to accomplish

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71
Q

Media Mix

A

refers to the combination of digital channels used to reach your goals and how you divide your budget among them

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72
Q

how do you do digital marketing?

A

hierarchy is like this
*research audience
*set meaningful goals
*review your existing media for *gaps
*select marketing channels
*plan the content you’ll use to reach your goals
*create a plan to measure and analyze results

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73
Q

how to find out the type of content your audience engages in?

A

analyze certain customer data points.

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74
Q

ways to create customer personas

A
  1. marketing automation tools like
    HubSpot,
    Xtensio,
    Up Close & Persona
  2. research by Using surveys, interviews, and/or data that already exists in your automation tools
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75
Q

Customer personas

A

represent a group of similar people in a desirable audience

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76
Q

in goal setting, it is important to be clear with why they matter and what they involve.

A

in goal setting, it is important to be clear with why they matter and what they involve.

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77
Q

difference between a business goal and a marketing goal?

A

business goals are desired outcomes for a business. Include things like: girli
increasing profits,
gaining new customers,
improving customer service,
raising productivity, or
launching new products or services.

marketing goals are smaller and related to marketing strategy.
include : grid
raising brand awareness,
increasing web traffic,
generating new leads, and
driving sales or conversions

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78
Q

So how do you connect a marketing goal like raised brand awareness to a business goal like increased profits?

A

example, let’s say there’s a company that makes photo editing software, and they want to expand their customer base. A well-defined version of this business goal could be something like: Grow our number of active customers by 25% over the next two years by adding five frequently-requested features to our software.
the example above is also a great example of a well-defined goal (specific). It tells you what they’re going to do ( Grow our number of active customers by 25%), how they plan to do it ( by adding five frequently-requested features to our software), and when they want to get it done (over the next two years ).
now, let’s consider this goal from a marketing perspective. What kinds of digital marketing goals could help this company expand its active user base? How about increasing website traffic? After all, people need to visit the website to sign up for an account, but more website traffic doesn’t necessarily equal more new users. It would depend on how many of those visitors are new versus existing customers and what they’re doing once they get to the site. So increasing website traffic might work, but maybe there’s a better option. What about generating new leads? Since a lead is someone who is already interested in a company, lead-generation is more likely to result in more signups than general website traffic. A well-defined version of that goal could be: We will increase our lead generation by 40% in the next year by running upper-funnel ads that highlight our new features and increasing our mid-funnel budget by 20%. By raising awareness of the new features and increasing the budget for activities that create new leads, the marketing goal supports the business goal of growing its user base

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79
Q

Before you create marketing campaigns

A

evaluate what your company’s goals are

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80
Q

SMART

A

specific, measurable, attainable, relevant, and time-bound.

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81
Q

three main categories of digital media

A

paid
owned
earned

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82
Q

paid digital media is

A

any form of digital promotion a brand pays to put online- produce results instantly, cons- gone when payment is stop.

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83
Q

earned digital media is

A

is any positive digital exposure generated through personal or public recommendations. generated by customers. a customer likes a product so much that they tell their friends about it for free,
can take the form of social media mentions, blog posts, written or video reviews, or positive press coverage, like product profiles or best-of lists

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84
Q

owned digital media

A

refers to all the digital content a brand fully controls. doesn’t advertise or sell products directly but provides value by giving customers what they need in order to make informed decisions. includes; website content, blogs, eBooks, and social media content

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85
Q

SEO

A

A set of practices designed to increase the quantity and quality of traffic to a website. it is a process you undertake to make search engines recognize your content as relevant and high quality.

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86
Q

keyword research

A

this is what you do to identify common search terms and phrases consumers use to find products or services online. the goal is: find the keywords that are most relevant for your audience and products and make sure they are part of your content.

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87
Q

quality content

A

a quality content is a content that is up to date, useful and usable for your customers and also matches your business’s current offerings and reflect keyword trends.

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88
Q

website structure

A

makes it easier for both search engines and customers to navigate your content.

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89
Q

Search Engine Marketing (SEM)

A

a form of digital promotion (paid advertising)-they are the paid ads that appear on search engine results pages. above or below the regular search listings in a SER

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90
Q

Search Engine Marketing, or SEM

A

is the process of generating traffic to a website through paid ads that appear on search engine results pages. SEM ads are the ones that appear above or below the regular search listings in a SERP.
SEM a broad umbrella that includes both paid ads in search engines and SEO.

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91
Q

EM starts out the same way that SEO does: with keyword research.
Once you have your keywords you enter an ad auction to bid on them.
When you bid on a keyword, you decide how much you’re willing to pay when someone searches for a term and clicks your ad.
This is known as pay-per-click, or PPC, because you pay only when someone clicks on your ad.

A

EM starts out the same way that SEO does: with keyword research.
Once you have your keywords you enter an ad auction to bid on them.
When you bid on a keyword, you decide how much you’re willing to pay when someone searches for a term and clicks your ad.
This is known as pay-per-click, or PPC, because you pay only when someone clicks on your ad.

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92
Q

ad auction

A

is how a search engine determines which ads to display, and the order they’re shown, When someone performs a search.

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93
Q

cost-per-click, or CPC

A

The amount you pay when someone clicks on a PPC ad

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94
Q

what are the benefits of paid ads

A

paid ads give you control over where those visitors land on your site, whether that’s a sign up form or a specific product page

they create opportunities for remarketing. Remarketing allows you to identify previous customers or visitors to your website and serve them paid ads on other sites and social media platform

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95
Q

remarketing

A

a way of recapturing the attention of people who are already interested in your brand

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96
Q

SEM is a way for brands to generate traffic to their websites by placing paid ads on search engine results pages. It uses a model called pay-per-click advertising, which charges you when someone clicks on your ad. Paid ads have some big advantages like reaching customers quickly, controlling where visitors land on your site, and remarketing.

A

SEM is a way for brands to generate traffic to their websites by placing paid ads on search engine results pages. It uses a model called pay-per-click advertising, which charges you when someone clicks on your ad. Paid ads have some big advantages like reaching customers quickly, controlling where visitors land on your site, and remarketing.

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97
Q

Display ad

A

are images, text, videos, or GIFs that are submitted to display networks and then placed in front of your ideal audience to promote your brand, service, or product.

98
Q

display network

A

a group of websites, videos, and apps where your ads can appear.

Some examples of display networks are the Google Display Network, Taboola, and Criteo

99
Q

ad exchanges

A

digital marketplaces where buyers and sellers come together and enter into a real-time bidding process to buy and sell ad space.
Agencies and advertisers typically bid on impressions from ad exchanges via a tool called a demand-side platform. Xandr, OpenX, Magnite, Pubmatic, and Google Ad Manager are examples of ad exchanges

100
Q

Types of display ads

A

Image ads
Text ads
Responsive ads
App promotion ads

101
Q

Image ads

A

are static JPG, PNG, or animated GIF files that appear on websites.

102
Q

Text ads

A

general ads that appear on websites as text only. These aren’t the most dynamic ads, since they are text only.

103
Q

Responsive ads

A

automatically adjust their size and format to fit the available space around them. The flexibility and capability of responsive ads makes them very popular. They can also appear as native ads, which means they are designed and formatted to look like a native piece of the website’s content.

104
Q

App promotion ads

A

drive app downloads and engagement from users by getting them to download apps.
when clicked, they send users straight to their app store to easily get whatever app your company wants them to download

105
Q

strategies businesses can use to reach their digital marketing goals

A

SEO
SEM
Display Ads
Social Media Marketing
Email Marketing

106
Q

Social Media Marketing and Email Marketing are more effective together than separately.

A

Social Media Marketing and Email Marketing are more effective together than separately.

107
Q

Social Media Pros:
Find new audience
Engage with customers
Run ads
Generate earned media through viral content
can help brands grow their email lists

Cons: businesses can’t control the platforms themselves. f a particular platform shuts down or changes its algorithm, it can affect a brand’s ability to reach its followers overnight

A

Social Media Pros:
Find new audience
Engage with customers
Run ads
Generate earned media through viral content
can help brands grow their email lists

Cons: businesses can’t control the platforms themselves. f a particular platform shuts down or changes its algorithm, it can affect a brand’s ability to reach its followers overnight

108
Q

email marketing is about nurturing relationships with people who are already interested in a brand.

A

email marketing is about nurturing relationships with people who are already interested in a brand.

109
Q

Pros of email marketing:
cost effective
own control

A

Pros of email marketing:
cost effective
own control

110
Q

five pillars of social media marketing

A

strategy
planning and publishing
listening and engagement
analytics and reporting
paid social media

111
Q

social media marketing strategy

A

know your audience (needs and pain points)
know which social media platform they use

strategy for content creation
Understand your audience
have clear goals e.g. if you want to build community around your brand, you might focus on interactive content like polls or questions and answer sessions. or if your goal is to promote a new product, running a contest or giveaway might get better results

112
Q

planning and publishing means deciding when to post content and how often to post content.
The goal is to engage followers enough so that they remember you

A

planning and publishing means deciding when to post content and how often to post content.
The goal is to engage followers enough so that they remember you

113
Q

social listening and engagement

A

track and analyze social conversations and mentions related to your brand. This could mean monitoring direct responses to a brand’s social content or earned media, like posts about its products, which are great ways to find out how customers feel about your business

social listening and engagement is like a conversation.
First, a business publishes content. Then they listen to how their audience responds. By paying attention to what their audience says, they can determine the best way to reply.

114
Q

analytics and reporting

A

the goal is to find out how your content or campaigns are performing and communicate results to others

115
Q

Paid social media ads

A

can expand a brand’s reach beyond its existing customer base and allow them to remarket products.
brands can serve ads to highly specific customer groups
a good way for brands to grow their email lists

116
Q

Choosing the right platforms for your target audience

A

Twitter is a word-based platforms where people interact in short messages and where open communication is encouraged. best suited for building relationships.
one of the only platforms where a brand may post dozens of times a day, without overloading its followers
be responsive and engaging on Twitter.

Instagram an image-based photo and video sharing platform best platform to target new customers. a good place to show people your product using interesting and dynamic visuals.
effective for telling your brand’s story

Facebook
a social media platform that allows you to share articles, links, products, images, and reviews.
Not all social media platforms allow you to easily share links to landing pages and other content, but doing so can be a great way to drive traffic to your site.

117
Q

Email marketing is

A

sending relevant, helpful content to people who’ve agreed to receive it.

118
Q

How do brands avoid coming across like spammers? How do they make sure they’re sending the right content, to the right people, at the right time?

A

They use segmentation and personalization

119
Q

Email segmentation

A

_ is the practice of dividing an email subscriber list into smaller groups, based on criteria like interests, location, or purchase history.
-helps marketers decide what email content to send to which people

120
Q

personalization

A

is a process of customizing email content for individual subscribers.

email marketers can address each recipient directly by putting their name in the greeting or subject line. Send promotions for special events like birthdays, holidays, or anniversaries. Send messages that match where customers are in the marketing funnel

121
Q

Types of email campaigns

A

Acquisition emails
Welcome emails
Newsletters
Promotional emails
Retention emails

122
Q

Acquisition emails

A

are sent out to acquire new customers
fall into the awareness section of the marketing funnel

123
Q

Welcome emails

A

sent out to brand new customers or subscribers.
exists within the consideration stage of the marketing funnel

124
Q

Newsletters

A

contain news and informational content relevant to the company and of interest to subscribers. sent out regularly

125
Q

Promotional emails

A

sent to inform subscribers of new or existing products or services. Promotional emails usually fall into the consideration and loyalty buckets of the marketing funnel

126
Q

Retention emails

A

sent to a current customer with the intent of keeping them as a customer.
fits into the loyalty portion of the funnel.

127
Q

social listening

A

the process of tracking and analyzing social media conversations and mentions related to a brand.

128
Q

Ad extension

A

A Google Ads feature that shows additional information about the business

129
Q

Content marketing

A

A marketing technique that focuses on creating and distributing valuable content to a specific audience

130
Q

Search engine results pages (SERPs)

A

The pages of results a search engine produces when someone performs a search

131
Q

performance marketing

A

activities to measure the results of digital marketing tactics, campaigns, and strategies

the process of using concrete information about customer behaviors to plan and refine marketing and sales strategies.

lets us gauge how each of those touchpoints contributes to our goals, which helps us reach and engage with customers more effectively.

132
Q

Performance marketers set specific goals and use metrics to find out if they’ve reached them

A

Performance marketers set specific goals and use metrics to find out if they’ve reached them

133
Q

performance metrics

A

the number of impressions or cost per click on paid ads
customer lifetime value
ROAS or return on ad spend

134
Q

customer lifetime value

A

refers to the average revenue generated by customers over a certain period of time

135
Q

ROAS

A

how much revenue is gained versus how much was spent.
if you spend $100 on an ad, but made $150 as a result of that ad, the ROAS would be 150%

136
Q

an average customer journey takes about six touchpoints

A

an average customer journey takes about six touchpoints

137
Q

What metrics to track per stage of the marketing funnel you are operating in

A

in the awareness stage- you’ll gather audience data and develop user persona

During the consideration stage, you will consider metrics like cost of acquisitions and click through rates.

During the conversion stage, you will track and analyze sales conversion rates, average order values, and cart abandonment rates

138
Q

KPI, or Key Performance Indicator

A

is a measurement used to gauge how successful a business is in its effort to reach a business or marketing goals

139
Q

Data analytics

A

the process of monitoring and evaluating data to gain actionable insights.

140
Q

main data analytics responsibilities you might have as a digital marketer

A

Pulling,
reporting
analyzing data

141
Q

Data pulling

A

the process of collecting data from analytics tools and putting it into a spreadsheet or database, making it easy to access and work with.

142
Q

Data reporting (the what)

A

also called performance reporting, involves organizing and summarizing data to track performance across marketing and sales efforts

143
Q

Data analysis (the why)

A

the process of examining data in order to draw conclusions, make predictions, and drive informed decision-making.

144
Q

Data ethics

A

the study and evaluation of moral challenges related to data collection and analysis

145
Q

Personally identifiable data (PID)

A

information that can be used to directly identify, contact, or locate an individual.

Many countries have laws regarding the generation, recording, curating, processing, sharing, and use of personally identifiable data.

146
Q

Data privacy

A

refers to the proper handling of data

147
Q

Data anonymization

A

One important way to protect customer data
-one or more techniques to mask or remove personal information from data to protect the identities of people.

148
Q

Data bias

A

a type of human error that skews results in a certain direction

149
Q

ethical data practices

A

Follow regulations
Protect customer data
Use data fairly and without bias

150
Q

set your strategy,
pick your channels
plan your content
measure results- which channels and content are performing well?

A
151
Q

attribution

A

the process of determining which content and channels are responsible for generating leads, conversions, or sign-ups

152
Q

few attribution models businesses use

A

data-driven
first click
last click
linear

153
Q

Data-driven attribution

A

measures customer engagement with marketing content across channels to understand what’s motivating them to take action
-assigns credit to each touchpoint based on statistics like which ads or keywords most often lead to conversions

154
Q

First click attribution

A

assigns all the credit to the first touchpoint that eventually leads to a conversion

155
Q

Last click attribution

A

assigns all the credit to the last known touchpoint before conversion

156
Q

Linear attribution

A

assigns equal credit to each touchpoint along the customer journey

157
Q

How do you turn those insights into action? How do you persuade key people that something needs to be done?

A

by using your data to tell a story

158
Q

Data storytelling

A

is the practice of conveying data insights to a specific audience using a clear and compelling narrative.

159
Q

three main components of a data story

A

data - data points like the characters in a play
-be selective about which numbers you highlight.
The most important data points are your lead characters, while others could play supporting roles, and some may not need to be in the scene at all.
To decide which data points are important, it’s crucial to understand the questions you’re trying to answer.

a compelling narrative- is like the plot of a play.

and clear visualizations

160
Q

The three-part data story structure

A

Context- the goals of the company

Complication- the reason the situation requires action (what will happen if the situation continues)

Resolution- is the necessary action to take to solve a problem or leverage an opportunity

161
Q

What is the purpose of attribution

A

To determine which touchpoints result in customer action

162
Q

Question 2
When determining specific touchpoints responsible for conversion, which attribution model is most accurate

A

Data-driven attribution

163
Q

Tips to find the right job

A
  1. Search job boards and analyze job descriptions
    in searching for jobs you can go to Indeed, LinkedIn, and Glassdoor and search for phrases like “digital marketing” or “e-commerce specialist. include phrases like “associate,” “assistant,” “coordinator,” and “entry-level.” if you are looking for an entry level position.

, jot down the words that seem most commonly-used by companies, as they will come in handy later.

  1. Take a professional inventory
    involves considering the traits and qualifications necessary to perform digital marketing and e-commerce jobs and determining which ones reflect you as a professional.
  2. Refine relevant documents and social media pages
    Remember how you jotted down common words in job descriptions? You’re going to use those now to refine your online presence. Start by going over your resume and any cover letters you have written. As you make edits within these documents, make sure to draw upon your professional experiences.
    Visit the profiles of other digital marketers and e-commerce specialists for inspiration.
  3. Leverage your personal network
    Reach out to old friends, colleagues, and people you know who may give you advice on the industry or even refer you for positions.

respond to the following questions:
Have you visited any job boards this week? If yes, which ones?

What job descriptions have you researched so far?

What have been the 2–3 most common requirements for the roles you have researched?

What concrete steps can you commit to take in the next week to advance your job search?

Which job search strategies are you excited to try?

What do you hope to accomplish by using these job search strategies?

164
Q

Change management

A

Methods, practices, approaches, and processes that organizations take to ensure changes are implemented smoothly

165
Q

to get a brand to stand out, it must be to create messaging and materials that connect with its customers.
to be able to successfully create messaging and materials that connect to your customers, you must know your customers.
to know your customers, you must define your ideal customer.
to successfully define your ideal customer, create several types of customer persona, also known as buyer persona, marketing persona, audience persona.

A
166
Q

a customer persona includes

A

who the person represents, (their characteristics)
what they want to achieve (their goal)
the barrier to reaching their goal, also called a pain point (their pain point)

167
Q

a marketer creates several types of personas because most businesses have more than just one type of customer.

A

a marketer creates several types of personas because most businesses have more than just one type of customer.

168
Q

how to craft customer persona:
I. RESEARCH: in crafting customers persona you need information about your customers.
To collect these information you must research.
I.A. review company’s existing data about the its customers. existing data to review: demographics, location, sales history, and customer service notes.
I.B. conduct interview; Ask questions such as what brought them to the product, how did it solve their problem, and if appropriate, consider collecting information on their other interests as well to form a more detailed persona.
I.C. analyze web data; review any demographic data about people who follow your business account on social media; website analytics, such as Google Analytics, provide data about elements like the age and gender of website visitors; online reviews and comments
I.D. send out surveys; email a survey out to current customer (note: participation is low on this particular type of strategy; encourage survey participation by giving away something for free to one of the customers who fills out the survey.)

II. DEFINE WHO YOUR CUSTOMER IS
define your persona’s interests, traits, and demographics.
Demographics are information specific to the customer, such as age, gender identity, income, family size, occupation, education, and location.

III. GET SPECIFIC ABOUT THEIR GOALS AND BARRIERS
To create the goals and barriers primarily rely on the data you collect FROM surveys and interviews.
For the customer persona goal, get specific about the customer and what they want to achieve. This goal needs to be related to the product or service.
after identifying goals, consider the barrier, or what’s preventing the customer from achieving their goal.

Now that you have the demographic information, the goals, and the barriers, combine that information to create your personas.

Now, let’s imagine you’ve completed a few personas. Now what do you do with them? A best practice is to keep them readily available. Whenever you work on any marketing material, consider all of your personas. Who are you trying to reach? What visuals appeal to them? What messages appeal to them? What online platforms do they spend their time on? That’s the power of a persona.

A

in crafting customers persona you need information about your customers.
To collect these information you must research:
1. review company’s existing data about the its customers
2. conduct interview

169
Q

some examples of questions you might ask to gather customer data:

A

What is your age?

What is your education level?

Where do you live?

Whom do you live with?

What is your occupation?

What are your primary activities on a typical workday? What about on the weekend?

What challenges do you face?

What do you value most?

What are your goals?

170
Q

a main goal of the marketing funnel is to ensure great customer experience through each stages to help a business accomplish their goals, whether that be for profit, revenue, new customers, or even something different.

A

a main goal of the marketing funnel is to ensure great customer experience through each stages to help a business accomplish their goals, whether that be for profit, revenue, new customers, or even something different.

171
Q

difference between strategies and tactics

A

strategies support the plan to achieve the marketing goal and tend to be more general ideas

Tactics are actions taken to make the plan happen.

For example, social media marketing would be a strategy. It’s a general idea. And actions on social media would be the tactics. These support the strategy.

172
Q

strategies and tactics to build awareness.

A

SEO-search engine optimization
- the process of improving a website to increase its visibility in a search engine such as a Google Search or Microsoft Bing

SEM- search engine marketing
-It’s when you increase a website’s visibility in a search engine through paid advertisement

Display ads
- are graphic-based advertising such as photos, videos, or text
Build awareness by getting display ads on websites your potential customers are visiting

social media marketing
-These are posts on any social media platforms, such as Facebook, Instagram, or LinkedIn. No cost and comes with many ways of building awareness. One common strategy is to get a follower to share the brand’s post to their followers

Social media advertising
-similar to social media marketing, except that it’s paid. a common paid opportunity that builds awareness is an ad that shows in non-followers’ feeds. You can target new potential customers based on their interest

Video marketing
-a common one to build awareness is a YouTube ad that plays before a video, similar to social media advertising. You can target potential customers based on what videos they previously watched

Influencer marketing
-is when you partner with a person or a brand that has a large following. For a fee

content marketing
- This is a marketing technique that focuses on creating and distributing valuable content.
e.g a downloadable e-book that your potential customers may want to read, educational webpage., Content marketing is often tied with SEO or SEM, but remember, creating valuable content is just the first step of content marketing. The next is to get the content in front of potential customers.

173
Q

Okay, you now have potential customers aware of the brand and what it provides. However, they aren’t ready to purchase yet. Now what do you do next?

A

You build consideration- this is the next stage of the marketing funnel. here, you build interest for your product or service.
- the strategies we discussed in the previous video still apply in the consideration stage only here, the content are more in-depth and persuasive, such as a case study
and Previous visitors will be targeted for the ad targeting.

174
Q

some marketing strategies and tactics to build consideration

A

USP - unique selling proposition
-it explains why a product or service is better than the competition
-make sure that the USP is clear and repeated often

Testimonials -customers provide their experience with a product or service.

case studies- similar to testimonials, except they’re usually more in-depth. They’re often in written format.

Remarketing ads - are advertisements delivered to previous purchasers, subscribers, or visitors to a brand’s website or social media

Webinars -are presentations, typically educational, that are provided online. They are a great way to both educate potential customers and promote your product or service. the challenge to webinars is getting people to attend

Email marketing - s when you send promotional or educational emails to an email list. One strategy to build consideration is to send out educational emails about the products or services.

Social media marketing is slightly different in the consideration stage than the awareness stage. In the consideration stage, potential customers are now account followers. Post to followers consistently with varied content to build their interest in the brand

175
Q

conversion rate

A

is the percentage of users or website visitors that take a desired action.

the typical conversion rate of an e-commerce business is around 1-2%.

176
Q

strategies and tactics for conversion stage

A

Optimize the checkout process- the checkout process should be as easy as possible. delete any field or page you don’t need for they may decrease the conversion rate.

A field is any piece of information the customer needs to enter before purchasing the product.

consider adding additional payment options such as Google Pay or Shopify’s Shop Pay

177
Q

ways to increase conversion rate of an e commerce website

A
  1. pursue abandoned carts by sending follow up emails that remind the customers of the products they put in their digital shopping cart but did not purchase.
  2. add quality visuals (relatable photos and animations)

relatable photos are lifestyle photos that show people using your product and service in everyday settings, such as at home, at work, and outdoors.

mini animations display on the website that help explain the special features of your product or service.

  1. redo the copy on their website. strengthen it.

Copy is written material that encourages customers to buy a product or service.

the copy must include an emotional appeal, explaining how the customer’s life might be different with your product or service. An emotional appeal persuades a customer to imagine how they might feel using the product, making it more likely they will make a purchase.

also redo FAQs. make sure to include common questions you get in your customer service.

  1. Experiment with A/B tests.
    Test the changes to ensure they are leading to more sales.

To test these webpage changes, run A/B tests.
The A/B test is when a marketer compares two versions of a webpage to determine which has the highest conversion rate.

178
Q

post-purchase strategies and tactics to increase loyalty among customers

A
  1. Reward programs
  2. Email marketing -always craft emails that provide value to the customer

Social shares are when customers share your product or service to their social media followers

  1. remarket to paying customers with new ads
  2. recognize customers on their bday- offer a discount for your customers’ birthdays.
    Also provide a discount on the anniversary of the first day they became a customer.
  3. give out freebies. they are a good way of reminding customers of your brand over and over again. Freebies could be a sticker, a magnet, a t-shirt, or something related to the business.
  4. use amusing confirmation messages
    When a customer purchases a product, they often receive a confirmation email or text.
    make them interesting? Add personality to the confirmation message by writing it in a way that makes the customer excited about receiving the product or service.

monthly product giveaways to customers who share their recent purchase on social media.

Encourage reviews
To receive more product reviews, they decide to send a follow up email to the customer encouraging them to write a review one week after the leather phone case gets delivered.

remarketing ads are advertisements delivered to previous purchasers, subscribers, or visitors to a websit

179
Q

a potential customer uses a search engine to solve their problem hence getting your website found in search engines is really important.
to get your website found in search engines, you need to understand how the Google search engine works and how it determines website rankings, know the structure of the search engine results pages, also called SERPs, know SEO,

A

a potential customer uses a search engine to solve their problem hence getting your website found in search engines is really important.

180
Q

three main processes of the Google search engine that Google search engine uses to locate the most relevant content to a user’s search query

A

crawling, indexing, and serving

181
Q

what is a search engine?

A

any software that locates information on a search query

182
Q

crawling, indexing, and serving in action

A

The first step the Google search engine takes. It is the process of finding new and updated web pages. Google explores the Internet with automated programs called crawlers.

once the crawlers discover a new or updated webpage, Google then stores these page URLs in a big list to review later.

several ways that Google crawlers finds webpages.

The main way is to follow links from pages already identified

Links are any web addresses on a webpage.

suppose you created a new webpage for a website. The crawler will primarily discover that new page by a link within the website or from a separate website. Once the new pages are crawled, Google then stores them in an index. an online index as similar to an index in the back of a book. A book index is a list of content and its associated pages. Similarly, Google stores web content with its location: the URL for each webpage

What type of content will Google index? Well, almost anything on the page including text, photos, and video content.

Remember, indexing is only possible if the website owner allows the webpage to be crawled. If the owner doesn’t want it to be crawled, indexed, and appear in Google Search, then they can indicate it in the website’s code.

Serving- After the webpage content is indexed, the Google Search algorithm goes to work. In this context, an algorithm is an automated software that helps locate information to answer a user’s query. The Google search algorithm sorts through billions of webpages to deliver the most relevant content for a given search. The purpose of the search algorithm is to deliver the best results for a search.

183
Q

whats is algorithm

A

an algorithm is just a set of instructions for solving a problem or accomplishing a task. One simple example of an algorithm is a recipe. You want to make a meal, and the recipe provides instructions to make that meal.

184
Q

how pages show up in a search is determined by five key factors

A

meaning of the query,
relevance of the web pages,
quality of the content,
usability of the webpages,
overall context and user settings

185
Q

what is a query?

A

A query is simply the words typed into a Google search bar.

186
Q

meaning of the query

A

the search algorithm establishes what the user is searching for (the intent behind the query) to be able To return relevant results.
Google’s algorithms have created language models to decipher the meaning and intent of a search.

to conquer this factor; As a marketer, consider the meaning and intent of your potential customer’s searches then create content that addresses the searchers needs.

187
Q

relevance of web pages

A

2nd key factor google considers when ranking a website.
This is when the algorithm determines what content is relevant to the search
The most basic signal that information is relevant is that the webpage contains the same keywords as the search query

188
Q

what is a keyword

A

A keyword is a word or multiple words that people use to find information, products, or services online.

189
Q

quality of the content

A

3rd factor google considers when ranking a website
One way Google determines quality content is understanding if prominent websites link or refer to the content

190
Q

usability of webpages

A

the fourth key factor google considers when ranking a website. refers to the content’s ease of use or offers better user experience (experience ranking factor).. ex. mobile friendly, page loads quickly,

191
Q

overall context and user settings

A

the last key factor google considers when ranking a website.
google considers the user’s location, past search history, search settings and activity in your Google account to deliver relevant and useful results.

192
Q

search engine results pages, also called SERP

A

appear whenever someone performs a search query

keep in mind that there are both search listings and ads

paid ads are what you’ll find towards the top of the search results page and/or at the end of the search results page

After the paid ads are search listings

193
Q

SEO - search engine optimization

A

non-paid process of increasing the visibility of website pages on search engines in order to attract more relevant traffic.

194
Q

some tasks often involved with search engine optimization

A

to do SEO, you may need to:
1. may review website content or structure to have a well-organized website that is easy for the search engine algorithms to crawl.

technical website development- involve tasks related to hosting, webpage redirects, error pages, or use of JavaScript. may also involve improving page load speeds.

content development- content as anything a visitor experiences on a website. includes text, videos, and photos and user experience.

keyword research- the process of finding terms and phrases that potential customers are typing into search engines

195
Q

do some pre-work if you are a digital marketer responsible for an organization’s SEO

A

do some pre-work if you are a digital marketer responsible for an organization’s SEO

few factors to consider before doing any search engine optimization tasks

  1. know your website or organization’s goals. What would they like to primarily achieve? For instance, would they like to get more sales, More emails? Or phone calls? The type of SEO work you do depends on their goals
  2. know the customers well. you need to really understand the people reading and experiencing your content.
    you need to know the visitor’s intent. What do they want to achieve? Communicate with them directly, and ultimately, help them fulfill that intent.
  3. brainstorming content for people first. create content for people first, Google second.
  4. know your competitors well. To rank higher in the SERPs, you’ll often have to create content that is better than the competition.
    To create better content than your competition, you must study what they created.
    Study what they’ve done and do it better.
196
Q

Keyword research

A

a process to find the terms people use in search engines.

Keyword research varies depending on the organization you work for and also can be somewhat based on opinion. It is also something best learned on the job,

Important: Google’s SEO quality guidelines recommend not doing one keyword related practice, and this practice is called keyword stuffing.

197
Q

Keyword stuffing

A

refers to the practice of loading a webpage with keywords or numbers in an attempt to manipulate a site’s ranking in the search results.

Examples of keyword stuffing include blocks of texts that lists cities and states that a webpage is trying to rank for or repeating the same words or phrases so often that it sounds unnatural, such as, “We sell custom candles. Our custom candles are handmade. If you’re thinking about buying a custom candle, contact a custom candle specialists.”

198
Q

two types of SEO

A

user-facing SEO component which is about content and keywords and what people actually see on the page

2.backend SEO, which is more on the technical side, which is about site speed, and site performance

199
Q

If you can increase the speed for the page when it loads, then you’ll have a better user experience. ( decrease the size of the page,)

A

If you can increase the speed for the page when it loads, then you’ll have a better user experience. ( decrease the size of the page,)

200
Q

a well-organized website structure
a site structure as how the web pages are all linked and connected
a good site structure is hierarchical
the hierarchy should be a flat structure
every page should only be three, maybe four clicks from the homepage

Remember, the primary way the Google crawlers discover a new or updated webpage is through links from other pages. If you create a page that has no links to it, it could take longer for Google crawlers to discover it. another way crawlers discover webpages, and that is through a sitemap

A

a well-organized website structure
a site structure as how the web pages are all linked and connected
a good site structure is hierarchical
the hierarchy should be a flat structure
every page should only be three, maybe four clicks from the homepage

Remember, the primary way the Google crawlers discover a new or updated webpage is through links from other pages. If you create a page that has no links to it, it could take longer for Google crawlers to discover it. another way crawlers discover webpages, and that is through a sitemap

201
Q

few tips to consider when creating a website structure and navigation

A

1.use https:// whenever possible, and ideally for every URL on the website
HTTPS is an Internet communications protocol that protects the integrity and confidentiality of data between the user’s computer and the site

  1. create a navigational page for users. A navigational page is a simple page on the website that displays the website structure. It usually consists of a hierarchical listing of all the pages on the site.
  2. show useful 404 pages. . A 404 page is a URL that tells the user that the webpage does not exist. Consider adding a link back to the homepage or links to popular content on the website.
  3. make your website navigation Google crawler friendly. make sure that the pages are reachable by following links through the site’s navigation.
    the product category page should link to the subcategory pages and then to the product pages.
202
Q

Site hierarchy best practices

A

Planning your site hierarchy. homepage-category-subcategory

Using breadcrumbs- a row of internal links at the top or bottom of the page that allows visitors to quickly navigate back to a previous section or the homepage.
homepage-category-subcategory

Using simple, descriptive URLs
-URLs should describe the content on the page.
Best practices for URLs:
1.Keep URLs as short as possible.
2. Make URLs easy to understand.
3. Keep URLs updated.
4. Create useful 404 pages.

203
Q

satisfying the searcher’s query better than the competition is the ultimate key to SEO.
create a website and/or content that is well-written, informative, and on topic

A
204
Q

recommendations on how to optimize your website’s content.

A

1.make the website useful and interesting.
the goal is to get Visitors sharing and talking about the website. this will help build the site’s reputation with both visitors and Google

2.know what visitors want and give it to them- starts with keyword research. Once you have the right keywords and topics, then create the great content.
Google Search guidelines suggestions on how to create great content:
make sure the content is well-written and easy to follow
free of spelling errors and grammatical mistakes
create Fresh, unique content. Google tries hard to show pages with distinct information

  1. act in a way that cultivates user trust.
    Provide information about who publishes the site, provides the context, and the organization’s goals
    If you have an e-commerce website, make sure you have clear and satisfying customer service information
  2. make expertise and authoritativeness clear.
    Be sure that content on the site is created or edited by people with knowledge in the topic.
    make sure someone who is an expert edits your content. Or, you can provide expert or experienced sources
  3. provide an appropriate amount of content for your subject.
205
Q

Links

A

an important way to help visitors find the information they need on your website

206
Q

two main types of website links

A

the links on your website
the links that point to your website

207
Q

Links on a website

A

can be either an internal link—pointing to another page within the website—or an external link—pointing to a page on another website

208
Q

An external link, also known as outbound links

A

are links pointing out of the website to another site. they take a visitor from the list of hotels on your website to the hotel’s official website. The visitor leaves your website to go to another website

209
Q

backlinks, also known as inbound links

A

are Links that point to your website from another website

210
Q

best practices to keep in mind when creating internal and external links

A
  1. Use appropriate anchor text.
    Anchor text is the visible text in a hyperlink. e.g. Learn more..
    Anchor text should be:
    a. Descriptive, provides a basic idea of what the page linked to is about
    b. Concise, A few words or a short phrase is all you need
    c. Easy to spot: Use formatting that makes your links stand out from the regular text on your website
    d. Helpful Use anchor text only when it helps a visitor navigate your site to find the information they need
  2. Use caution with external links.
    avoid linking to sites that may not be reputable or that may include information you don’t want to endorse.
    use nofollow links for a link to 3rd party sites added in the comments section or message boards of a website.

nofollow links are links that feature HTML code that tells search engines to ignore that link.

  1. Promoting your website.
    Create quality content that other people want to link to is the best way to promote your website and attract backlinks.

Ways to promote your website;
a. Publish blog posts about new content or new services you offer.

b. Share quality content on social media.

c. Feature helpful articles, such as buying guides, in your email marketing.

d. Connect with online communities related to your site, such as forums or message boards, social media groups, or related websites.

e. Only share content that will interest your users, instead of sharing every update to your site’s content.

  1. paidlinks
    Google warns against using paid links unless they are for advertising purposes and properly labeled
211
Q

best practices to get your images in Google Image results

A
  1. ensure that visual content is relevant to the page topic
  2. Display images only where they add original value to the page
  3. whenever possible, place images prominently on the page and near relevant text
  4. consider placing the most important image near the top of the page
  5. ensure your images are device-friendly. they should load properly on the computer, tablet, and mobile
  6. include descriptive titles, captions, and filenames.
  7. consider including a caption with any photo
  8. use descriptive alt text. Alt text is text that describes an image. It improves accessibility for people who can’t see images on a webpage, including visitors who use screen readers or have low bandwidth connections. When writing alt text, focus on creating useful, information-rich content that uses keywords appropriately.
    When writing alt text, focus on creating useful, information-rich content that uses keywords appropriately. The alt text should also be in the context of the page content and avoid keyword stuffing in alt text
  9. optimize for speed. Without losing the image’s quality, you should resize the images to a size more appropriate for a website.
    To determine if images are slowing the load speed of a website, use a free-of-charge tool provided by Google called Page Speed Insights. This tool analyzes a webpage and provides information about its load time. It also provides suggestions on how you can decrease the load time, such as what images are taking a long time to load
212
Q

What to know when building a mobile-friendly website

A
  1. Consider your customers’ objectives then Design your website so it’s easy for them to achieve their objectives.
  2. Measure the effectiveness of your website by how easy mobile customers can complete common tasks. Make a list of common tasks customers make on your website. Then, have several people test doing those tasks. How easy were they to complete?
  3. Use a responsive web design. A responsive web design means that the website uses the same code whether the user is on a desktop computer, tablet, or mobile phone. The display adjusts according to the screen size.
    Google recommends using a responsive web design over other design patterns.

Before you begin making your website mobile-friendly, review other sites in your industry, such as competitors for inspiration and best practices. Learn from features you find useful and not useful on their websites.

213
Q

https://search.google.com/test/mobile-friendly
Google’s
Mobile-Friendly Test
uses Googlebot to fetch your website and determines if it is mobile-friendly.

A

https://search.google.com/test/mobile-friendly
Google’s
Mobile-Friendly Test
uses Googlebot to fetch your website and determines if it is mobile-friendly.

214
Q

title link—

A

page name that appears in the results page.
automatically generated by google based on your title element and meta description.
when you enter a query on a search engine, results usually contain a bold title link (the title of a search result that links to a webpage) above a snippet (the description or summary part of the search result-sometimes based on meta description).
title links are often the primary piece of information people use to decide which result to click on.

215
Q

every webpage has a title element, and most webpages have a meta description

A

every webpage has a title element, and most webpages have a meta description

216
Q

webpage title element

A

provides both the user and search engines with a page’s topic

217
Q

meta description

A

provides the search engines a summary of what the page is about.

218
Q

best practices in creating a page title

A

make it accurately describe the topic of the page’s content
ensure every page has a unique title element.
make titles brief but descriptive

219
Q

few recommendations when crafting meta descriptions

A
  1. make sure there is a meta description for every page of the website
  2. should accurately summarize the page content.Make sure it just contains all the relevant information a searcher would need to determine whether the page will be useful to them.
    3.use unique descriptions for each page.
    However, just remember, with a large website, not every single page’s description must be written manually.
220
Q

Google automatically determines the title links, butyou can influence them and increase their effectiveness by following these best practices:

A

Do:

Accurately describe each page’s content in your title elements.

Write descriptive but concise titles.

Make sure your titles read naturally.

Create unique titles for each page.

Give each page’s main headline greater visual weight and prominence.

Don’t:

Use text in your title elements that has no relation to the content on the page.

Use default or vague text in your titles, like “Home,” “Untitled,” or “New Page 1.”

Use a single title in all title elements across your site’s pages.

Make your titles too lengthy or wordy.

Use repeated or boilerplate text in your titles.

Stuff unneeded or excessive keywords into your titles.

221
Q

Control your snippets by creating quality meta descriptions

A

Do:

Accurately summarize the page’s content.

Include all information users need to determine whether the page will be useful and relevant to them.

Create unique descriptions for each page on your site.

Don’t:

Write a meta description that has no relation to the content on the page.

Use generic descriptions like “This is a web page” or “Page about women’s clothing.”

Fill the description with too many keywords.

Copy and paste the entire content of the webpage into the meta description tag.

Use a single meta description across all of your site’s pages.

222
Q

rich results.

A

enhanced results in Google Search with extra visual or interactive features. To get rich results for a webpage, you should add structured data to the page, which is code used to describe a webpage content better to search engines.

The rich results for a product may include the price, availability, and review ratings.

Rich results for a review snippet may include the review rating and the number of ratings.
The review is usually an average of the combined rating scores from reviewers on the website. A review snippet can be about a book, a recipe, a movie, a product, software app, or local business.

The rich results for an article are typically for websites that publish timely information. This rich result isn’t just for news sites.

The information for a video may include the option to play the video, specific video segments, and if it’s livestream content. Y

223
Q

Structured data markup

A

a way of providing additional machine readable information within a webpage.

224
Q

Schema

A

type of code used for the structured data markups.
Now, depending on the type of platform a website is built on, there may be third party software that helps you add the markups without dealing with the schema code. To make the process easier, try to determine if the software is available before trying to learn the code

225
Q

Once you add the structured data markup to your content, you can ensure there are no mistakes with your implementation with a Google rich results test by running a test

A

. To run the test, enter in the URL for the webpage. You’ll have results within a minute or two. Running this test ensures you aren’t using invalid markup on the webpage. If it’s invalid, it won’t show up in the search results.

226
Q

Google knowledge panel

A

a Google search engine results pages (SERPs) feature that displays brand and business information separate from general search results

they are information boxes that appear on Google when you search for entities such as people, places, organizations, or things. You can compare the knowledge panel to a person’s personal identification card.

they are automatically generated, and information that appears in a knowledge panel comes from various sources across the web.

business details can include a(n):

Official website link

Site logo

Brand industry

Brand description

Social profile links

227
Q

steps detail the process of setting up a brand’s business details for a knowledge panel on Google.

A
  1. Step 1: Create a Google Business Profile
    -Google Business Profile is a free tool that allows local businesses to tailor how their business information appears on Google Search and Google Maps.

Step 2: Verify website ownership
Verify website ownership in
Google’s Search Console.
Search Console is a powerful Google tool that helps you better understand how your website is performing, allows you to optimize visibility of your websites, and provides other services.

Step 3: Update the website’s Google knowledge panel
sign in to the Gmail account associated with the entity that you represent and update your Google knowledge panel information..

Step 4: Add structured data for rich results
Rich results are Google Search results that go beyond the standard blue link. They can include carousels, images, or other non-textual elements. Rich result helps your business stand out.

Step 5: Highlight customer support methods
include ways that your website’s visitors can access helpful information or reach you for customer support needs. These include but are not limited to your contact number and email address

228
Q

Google’s Rich Results Test page

A

https://search.google.com/test/rich-results

229
Q

Google Search Console.

A

a no-cost tool that helps you better understand how the website is performing on Google Search

230
Q

different website metrics and reports Google Search Console

A

the number of people visit the website by searching on Google
confirm Google is crawling your webpages
learn if there are any technical errors on the site.

231
Q

how to get started on Google Search Console

A
  1. add and verify website ownership.
    once you finish the verification, Search Console will start to collect data, and you’ll gain full access to the tool.
  2. ensure Google can find and read your pages
    The index coverage report provides an overview of all the pages Google indexed or tried to index in the website. Review the rest available, and try to fix page errors and warnings.
  3. review the mobile usability report.
    This report shows issues that might affect your user’s experience while browsing the site on a mobile device.
    . The report includes information about specific issues, a sample list of the pages affected, and how to fix an issue.
  4. consider submitting a sitemap to Search Console.
    A sitemap is a file that provides information about the pages, videos, and other files on the site and the relationship between them.
    it’s a best practice to submit the sitemap to improve the crawling, particularly if your website is larger and over 500 pages.

website platforms such as WordPress, Wix, or Blogger automatically create and make a sitemap available for search engines

  1. monitor your site’s performance.
    The search performance report shows how much traffic you’re getting from Google Search.
232
Q

general usage of Search Console,

A

you’ll receive an email when unusual events occur, such as if the website is hacked or if Google has any issues crawling the website. Every month or so, review the Search Console dashboard. Get a quick health check to check on the website. Make sure there aren’t any errors on the site. Also, check that there aren’t any unusual dips in click count to the website. You should also review Search Console whenever you add new content to websites. If needed, submit a new sitemap with the recently-added content. A few hours after adding new pages, confirm that the number of indexed pages are rising. If you’re ever working on website content, review the Search Console metrics and reports to ensure the website is functioning properly. If it isn’t, that could affect the performance of your content.

233
Q

Overview page

A

the page you’ll see after logging into Search Console
-not a report, this is still an important page to understand.
shows a summary of your site’s health, including any security issues, graphs of metrics, and summaries of enhancements for the site, such as structured data.
should check on this page periodically to ensure that there are no security issues or enhancement errors. Also, confirm there aren’t any dips in the click count to the website.

234
Q

Web Search Performance report

A

focuses on several SEO-related metrics.
SEO-related metrics;
Impressions are how many times your site has been seen by someone in Google Search.
. Clicks are how many times a searcher clicked on your website’s results in the SERPs.
click-through rate is the percentage of people who saw your listing and then clicked on it.
The average position is where your site ranks in the search results. Position one is the top position.

235
Q

Links report.

A

shows which websites link to yours, what the link text is, and what your top-linked pages are.
se this report to better understand which webpages are receiving the most links from other websites.
Ask yourself, why is this page receiving more links than other pages? Also, you can use a Links report to determine if a website is linked to by spammy or useful sites.

236
Q

Coverage report

A

shows the index status for all pages in your site.
Pages are grouped according to whether they are or can be indexed
Also included is a description of why the pages could or could not be indexed.
Use the Coverage report to periodically scan for spikes in errors or drops in index counts to identify crawling problems on your site.

237
Q

manual action report

A

Google’s way demote or remove webpages that are not compliant with its webmaster quality guidelines.
manual actions are for websites or webpages that tried to manipulate the search index

238
Q

Security Issues report

A

lists indications that your site was hacked or behavior on your site that could potentially harm a visitor or their computer.
An example of this is installing unwanted software on a visitor’s computer. If you do see a security issue in this report, Google will provide details about the issue and how to fix it.

239
Q

some of the more popular and important reports in Search Console one must use

A

Overview page
Web Search Performance report
Links report
Coverage report
manual action report
Security Issues report

240
Q

Sitemaps report

A

A sitemap helps Google find the most important pages on your website that you would like to appear in search results. It also helps Google understand the relationship between the pages on your site.
The sitemaps report in Google Search Console allows you to submit or update your sitemap

You might not need to submit a sitemap if your site is small and already being crawled by Google or if you are using any of these website platforms, such as WordPress, Wix, and Blogger (these platforms automatically create a sitemap for you and make it available to search engines.)
If your website platform doesn’t automatically create and submit a sitemap, you can use the sitemaps report in Google Search Console to do so

241
Q

URL inspection tool

A

Another tool that Google Search Console offers
which provides detailed crawl, index, and serving information about your pages, directly from the Google index.
It allows you to access the information that the Google index has about a specific URL on your website. It also allows you to test a live page on your website.
reveals errors on the page, such as HTML or JavaScript code errors and other technical information
helpful for troubleshooting any crawling errors that Google encountered on your site. It’s also helpful for fixing and retesting a page with errors..

242
Q

Change of address

A

If you move your website from one domain to another, you’ll need to let Google know by using the change of address tool.