Science Behind A Creative that Sells Flashcards
Why should you care about creatives?
One of the biggest things that differentiate the winners from the losers is the marketing message. The message is how you choose to communicate with prospective customers. It is the idea behind the copy, the idea behind the image or video, and the idea behind the funnel.
If what you write is in line with what your target audience has in mind then you are in a good spot. People will resonate with the product and will know whether it’s right for them. They can identify with the texts and images, almost as if they were written precisely for them.
The way you write is very important and has to be precisely calculated. The angle that you use, the words you choose, the length of the text, the colors, and the emojis, all come into play.
What is the proof of the impact that your copy/creative makes?
- CTR (click-through rate)
The number of people that click your ad out of 100.
If your CTR is 1%, it means that 1 in 100 people clicked your ad
» CTR = (clicks/impressions)*100 - CPM (cost per mile or cost per 1000 impressions) You can tell how much you are paying FB to show your ads to 1000 people.
If you had 3000 impressions and your ad spend was $20, then your CPM is $6.66
» CPM = (ad spend*1000)/impressions - Conversion rate
A percentage means how many people performed a desired action in your funnel. It is a conversion rate on a purchase, meaning how many people bought out of 100 people. A 1% conversion rate means that 1 out of 100 people that visit a funnel buys.
» Conversion Rate = purchases/visitor
What difference can the creatives make?
CTR is directly correlated with how good your ad is. E.g., a good ad will make 3 out of 100 people (on average) click your ad. Meanwhile, a mediocre ad can get 1 out of 100 people to click on your ad.
The good ad will make 3 times more money than the mediocre one, as there are 3 times as many people getting into the funnel. Therefore, if you are paying FB $12 in CPM and someone else is paying $6 then your ad will be shown to half as many people.
The numbers translate into sales or leads if the conversion rate of your funnel holds up.
If you improve these metrics then the conversion of your funnel compounds.
Methods to come up with angles on the spot.
Think about the people and their interaction with the product.
Combine some of the angles and create new ones that appeal to a broader audience. This is useful when you are dealing with extremely niche audiences that are very small.
How often should you think and create new angles & creatives?
When they stop working.
You don’t touch what is working; however, no matter how good your ads are, one day they will die. If you are not ready for it, you’ll lose money on the ads and potential money in lost returns.
Try new ads as often as you can. Refresh ads every month for retargeting. For cold audiences, test new ads once a month or more often (once every two weeks) for clients that can provide creatives faster.
Testing new angles means testing new ideas, copy, images, and videos.