Module 3: Measure your Search Network campaign Flashcards
What is Google’s 1st best practice for finding actionable insights through AdWords Reporting?
- Frame AdWords account analysis around what success looks like for you
- Define clear and consistent success metrics for your AdWords account.
- Focus on insights that lead to changes that affect your success metrics.
What is Google’s 2nd best practice for finding actionable insights through AdWords Reporting?
- Give AdWords account analysis the appropriate context
- Detect anomalies in your AdWords account by being aware of baseline performance.
- Choose the right time periods when analyzing AdWords performance.
- Ensure that your ratios have the right amount of data to be legitimate.
What is Google’s 3rd best practice for finding actionable insights through AdWords Reporting?
- Tell a story that translates AdWords reports into action
- Filter your analyses and reports to focus on high-value areas.
- Segment your analyses and reports to highlight differences at every level of your AdWords account.
- Create line, bar and pie charts to better visualize your AdWords data.
What is Google’s 4th best practice for finding actionable insights through AdWords Reporting?
- Tailor AdWords reports to be uniquely meaningful to your needs
- Create custom columns that focus on what matters most.
- Save your important, recurring analyses as reports.
What is the Report Editor?
The Report Editor is an analytical tool that allows you to engage with your data through multi-dimensional tables and charts.
- A simple drag-and-drop interface lets you quickly build and manipulate multi-dimensional tables and charts, reducing the need to download your data for deeper analysis.
- Multi-segment analysis lets you slice and dice your data with finer granularity in your tables and charts.
- Custom charts let you quickly visualize the patterns and trends in your data.
- Advanced filtering and sorting allow you to filter on segmented metrics (e.g., mobile clicks) and sort by multiple columns.
How can you analyse success when measuring Ad Performance?
- Status: In the “Status” column of the statistics table on your Ads tab, you can see whether each of your ads is running.
- Average position: Look for the “Average position” (Avg. pos.) column in the statistics tables on your account tabs to find out exactly where your ad is appearing on Google’s search results page. Positions one through 10 usually appear on the first page of search results. This is the best way to check on the positions of many ads at once.
- Ad variations: If you have more than one ad in an ad group, your ads will be rotated and take turns showing. By comparing the performance of your different ads, you can find out what your customers find the most compelling. For example, see which ad has the highest CTR and improve those ads with the lowest CTR. We suggest testing between two and four ads in an ad group at a time.
How can you analyse success when measuring Keyword Performance?
- Keyword status: The Status column of the statistics table on your Keywords tab tells you whether each of your keywords is triggering ads to run.
- Quality Score: This column helps you monitor the Quality Scores of your keywords.
- Search terms: You can see the actual search terms that drove traffic to your ads on your Keywords tab.
Name four campaign goals.
- Return on investment
- Brand awareness
- Traffic to your website
- Sales and conversions
How are Clicks defined and measured?
When someone clicks your ad, like on the blue headline of a text ad, AdWords counts that as a click.
- A click is counted even if the person doesn’t reach your website, maybe because it’s temporarily unavailable. As a result, you might see a difference between the number of clicks on your ad and the number of visits to your website.
- Clicks can help you understand how well your ad is appealing to people who see it. Relevant, highly-targeted ads are more likely to receive clicks.
- In your account statistics, you’ll see the clickthrough rate (CTR), which tells you how many people who’ve seen your ad end up clicking on it. This metric can help you gauge how enticing your ad is and how closely it matches your keywords and other targeting settings.
- Note that a good CTR is relative to what you’re advertising and on which networks. To help increase your clicks and CTR, start by creating great ad text and strong keywords to make ads that are highly relevant and very compelling to your customers.
How are Impressions defined and measured?
How often your ad is shown. An impression is counted each time your ad is shown on a search result page or other site on the Google Network.
- Each time your ad appears on Google or the Google Network, it’s counted as one impression.
- In some cases, only a section of your ad may be shown. For example, in Google Maps, we may show only your business name and location or only your business name and the first line of your ad text.
- However, when someone searches using Google Instant, an impression can be counted when one of these occur:
#Person begins to type and then clicks anywhere on the page like a search result, ad, or related search #Person types a search and then clicks the "Search" button, presses Enter, or selects a predicted query from the drop-down menu #Person stops typing, and the results are displayed for a minimum of three seconds
- You’ll sometimes see the abbreviation “Impr” in your account showing the number of impressions for your ad.
How is Conversion rate defined and measured?
The average number of conversions per ad click, shown as a percentage.
- Conversion rates are calculated by simply taking the number of conversions and dividing that by the number of total ad clicks that can be tracked to a conversion during the same time period. For example, if you had 50 conversions from 1,000 clicks, your conversion rate would be 5%, since 50 ÷ 1,000 = 5%.
- If you’re tracking more than one conversion action, or you choose to count “Every” conversion, your conversion rate might be over 100% because more than one conversion can be counted for each click.
What is Impression share (IS)?
- Impression share (IS) is the percentage of impressions that your ads receive compared to the total number of impressions that your ads could get.
Impression share = impressions / total eligible impressions
- Eligible impressions are estimated using many factors, including targeting settings, approval statuses, and quality. Impression share data is available for campaigns, ad groups, product groups (for Shopping campaigns), and keywords.
- Impression share is a good way to understand whether your ads might reach more people if you increase your bid or budget.
How does Impression share (IS) work?
- To estimate impression share, Google looks at the ad auctions over the course of the day, and uses internal data such as quality for you and other participants in the same ad auctions.
Impression share includes all auctions where your ad showed, and all auctions where your ad is competitive enough to show. For example, it could include auctions where your ad could show at twice its current bid, but could exclude auctions where your ad is estimated to need a 1,000% bid increase in order to appear.
Keep in mind, impression share is based on an estimate of when your ad was competitive in the auction. Small fluctuations over time don’t necessarily indicate that action is needed. Changes to your bids, quality, or Google’s ad systems may change the set of auctions in which the system estimates you were competitive.
How does Impression share (IS) work for Shopping campaigns?
- Impression share for Shopping campaigns is calculated similarly to text ads. However, this metric considers that multiple Shopping ads from the same advertiser can show at the same time.
- To avoid double counting when multiple Shopping ads from the same advertiser are in the same auction, AdWords assigns the impression and the impression opportunity to the highest ranked Shopping ad from that advertiser.
What is a return on investment (ROI)?
- ROI is the ratio of your net profit to your costs. It’s typically the most important measurement for an advertiser because it’s based on your specific advertising goals and shows the real effect your advertising efforts have on your business. The exact method you use to calculate ROI depends upon the goals of your campaign.