Online Advertising Flashcards

1
Q

What is digital marketing?

A

• The use of digital or social media channels to promote a
brand or reach consumers
• Types of Digital Marketing: Search Marketing, Social Media/Network Marketing, Email Marketing, Website Marketing, and Mobile Marketing

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2
Q

What is search marketing?

A

• It is also called search engine marketing (SEM),
pay-per-click (PPC), or search engine advertising.
It is the process of gaining traffic by purchasing
ads on search engines.
(e.g., Google Ads)

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3
Q

What are the different types of targeted advertising?

A

Contextual advertising occurs when an ad
system scans a Web page for content and serves
an appropriate ad. (Google’s AdSense offers this service)

Behavioral advertising follows user behavior instead of page content. (Google’s Ads offers this service)

*Remarketing is a tactic for communicating with users
who previously visited a Web site. It is a form of
behavioral advertising.

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4
Q

What is social media/network advertising?

A

• Social media/network advertising describes forms of
online advertising that focus on social media/networking
services. The major benefit of this type of advertising is
that advertisers can take advantage of the users’
demographic information and target their ads
appropriately.

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5
Q

What are the four main objectives for paid branded content on social media sites?

A

• Build brand awareness
• Engage existing customers
• Increase the size of the community
• Drive traffic to an online destination.

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6
Q

What is the difference between Social Media/Network Marketing vs Email Marketing.

A

• Social network platforms can broadcast your marketing
messages, but you can customize your marketing
messages to different target groups by email marketing.

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7
Q

What are some of the advantages of email marketing?

A

•Creates a true 1 to 1 channel
•Can be used by any marketer
•Cost effective
•Can be personalized
•Measurable (use email tracking software)
•You will know when and where your recipients open the email
•Direct and Indirect Reach (Forwarding)

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8
Q

What is spam and permission marketing?

A

• Spam is unsolicited email
• Consumers typically report higher open rates for
permission-based email than spam emails
• Targeted emails to those customers who want to hear
from you are going to get a higher response rate than a
list of customers that are not familiar with your product or
service.

Permission marketing is: Anticipated, Personal and Relevant

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9
Q

What is the golden triangle?

A

• “Golden Triangle” is used to describe our eye tracking on
the website. Users generally scan vertically first, creating
the upright of the “F,” then horizontally when they pick up
a relevant visual cue, creating the arms of the F.

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10
Q

What are some anti-spam methods?

A

• Consent: You must have a form of valid consent

• Identification: Clearly identify yourself and your
organization. You must include your mailing address.
You must also include a phone number for accessing an
agent or a voice messaging system, an email address, or
a web address for you or the person on whose behalf you
are sending the message.

• Unsubscribe mechanism: Provide an unsubscribe
mechanism that is functional for 60 days.

• Truth in advertising: Your messages must not be false
or misleading.

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11
Q

What are the three measuring email response measure?

A

• Open Rate: The number of individual emails opened
divided by the number of emails delivered.
• Email Click-Through Rate: The number of email
offers/links clicked divided by the number of emails
opened.
• Click to Purchase Rate: The number of purchases divided
by the number of emails opened.

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12
Q

What they ways we can measure email deliverability?

A

• Bounce Rate for emails: Undeliverable addresses divided
by number of emails sent.

• Hard Bounce: Undeliverable because of bad address.

• Soft Bounce: Unable to deliver because of system or
other issues. For example, the emails can’t be delivered
at a particular time, perhaps because of a system
problem.

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13
Q

Answer these questions:

• 650 emails were sent, 636 emails were delivered, 88 unique individual opens, and 13 clicked the link in the email
• What is the bounce rate for emails?
• What is the open rate?
• What is the click-through rate?

A

Bounce Rate - 2.15% (Undeliverable addresses divided by number of emails sent.)

Open Rate - 13.84% (The number of individual emails
opened divided by the number of emails delivered.)

Click-through rate? 14.77% (The number of email
offers/links clicked divided by the number of emails
opened.)

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14
Q

What is website marketing? What is important to consider?

A

Website marketing is marketing done through one or more websites. Even if no direct sales are being conducted on a website, it is important to have a web presence.

It is important to consider how the website looks on:
• Desktop
• Mobile device
• Other devices

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15
Q

What are some website marketing objectives?

A

• Conversion
• Gain customer insights (e.g., Google Analytics)
• Enhance retention and loyalty
• Establish expertise
• Provide interactive sales and exceptional customer
service
• Build brand image, reputation, trust, and credibility
• Provide information

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16
Q

What are website marketing analytics? How can we track customer interactions?

A

Websites can offer a wealth of consumer data, which is crucial to gaining customer insights. One tool which can be used to gain such insights is Google Analytics.

Such tools allow you to track customer interactions, which can provide data related to:
• Website visits
• Time spent with specific pages
• Purchases and returns
• Data in customer accounts

17
Q

What is mobile marketing?

A

A mobile marketing plan should promote a mobile-first
strategy and cover all mobile aspects of a marketing
strategy, including web, social, mobile apps, mobile
texting, and others.

The mobile website for example is designed for unique device size and use case, to optimize mobile search.

18
Q

What is the importance of Mobile apps?

A

Mobile apps can:
• Generate leads and traffic through campaigns
designed to get consumers to download or
engage with them
• Increase conversion and sales by offering
purchasing capabilities and in-app advertising

19
Q

What are location based or geo-social ads?

A

• Claim your business on Google.
• Upload photos of your business to your claimed
profile.
• Offer specials to geosocial network users.
• Promote your profile on the geo-social networks.
• Response to reviews.

20
Q

What is local and location-based marketing?

A

• A location-based targeting strategy is to adopt a
geo-fencing strategy. This involves setting a virtual
boundary, fence, or circle in a geographic area,
making selected content available only to those in
that specific area (e.g., Netflix)

• Using the boundary that has been set, mobile
marketers can implement a mobile geo-targeting
strategy. Common types of communication include:
• Location-based push notifications
• Location-based mobile ads
• Geo-texting (sending text messages to consumers based
on their location)

21
Q

What is IGA?

A

In-Game Advertising (IGA)
• Product and brand placements in games:
• Branded storefronts
• Advertising boards
• Product placement in the games

22
Q

What are advergames?

A

• Hybrid between advertising and a game:
• Products and brands are integral parts of the game
• They are usually free

• IGA & Advergames are popular with advertisers, as
games are played over and over again

23
Q

How can we track effective and efficient internet buys?

A

Effective Internet Buys
• CTR (Click Through Rate) = #Clicks /#Impressions
• TCR (Transaction Conversion Rate) = #Transactions / #Clicks
• ROA (Return on Ad Dollars Spent) = Net Revenue / Cost of Advertising (net revenue = revenue - cost of advertising)

Efficient Internet Buys – to measure efficiency, media
buyers use:
• CPM (Cost per thousand impressions) = Campaign cost / #Impressions * 1000
• CPC (Cost Per Click) = Campaign cost / # Clicks
• CPT (Cost Per Transaction) = Campaign cost / # Transactions

24
Q

Answer this question.

• You run a display advertising campaign that costs
$100,000 during a given month.
• Your ad was served up 250,000 times (impressions). It
was clicked on 2,500 times. Of those who clicked, 50
made purchases on your website.

Calculate the CTR, TCR, CPM, CPC, CPT

A

• CTR (Click Through Rate) (#Clicks / #Impressions)
• CTR = 1%

• TCR (Transaction Conversion Rate) (#Transactions / #Clicks) • TCR = 2%

• CPM (Cost per thousand impressions) (Campaign cost /
#Impressions * 1000)
• CPM = $100,000/250,000 * 1,000 = $400 per 1000 impressions

• CPC (Cost per Click) (Campaign cost / # Clicks)
• CPC = $100,000/2,500 = $40 per click

• CPT (Cost per Transaction) (Campaign cost / # Transactions)
CPT = $100,000/50 = $2000 per